Shopping Cart

You are here

Officers & Board of Directors

Organizational Structure

American Bonsai Society's, organizational structure consists of a board of directors, president, officers, executive secretary and journal editor. We do not have headquarters or an office. The Board of Directors (up to 25 in number) oversees the strategic direction and goals for the organization. The President is responsible for implementing the board's directions as well as overseeing the operations of officers and the executive secretary.

Click here to view the ABS By-laws.

Our Officers are responsible for keeping the organization moving forward. Their duties include developing educational programs, guiding the efforts of the annual symposium coordinator, recruiting members, recording the organization's business meetings, tracking and finding finances.

The Executive Secretary is responsible for the day to day tasks needed to keep the organization operating smoothly. This includes central registration processing and maintaining the list of members, responding to business inquiries, etc..

The ABS Journal Editor is responsible for layout, content, and timely publishing of the Bonsai: Journal of the American Bonsai Society, which is the most visible part of the ABS organization.



ABS Officers and Board of Directors


President Karen Harkaway Moorestown, NJ Email
Vice-President Cheryl Sykora Hudson, WI Email
Secretary Katherine "Cat" Nelson South Bend, IN Email
Treasurer George Buehler Prospect, KY Email
Past President George Buehler Prospect, KY Email



Board of Directors
Scott ChaddPlacerville, CAEmail2015
John RuthWestminster, MDEmail2015
Karen HarkawayMoorestown, NJEmail2016
Randy DavisBoaz, KYEmail2016
Helene MagruderIndianola, IAEmail2016
John CotoggioCollege Point, NYEmail2016
Brussel MartinCollierville, TNEmail2016
Cheryl SykoraHudson, WIEmail2016
Todd SchlaferDenver, COEmail2016
Mark FieldsGreenwood, INEmail2016
Doug HawleyCincinnati, OHEmail2017
Katherine "Cat" NelsonKeota, IAEmail2017
Martin SchmalenbergStillwater, NJEmail2017
Andy SmithDeadwood, SDEmail2017
Dan TurnerNaperville, ILEmail2017
David EasterbrookLaval, QuebecEmail2017
Arthur SkolnikToronto, ONEmail2017
Dave HodgettsAlbany, NYEmail2017 
Gary WhartonKennewick, WAEmail2017
Dave BoganLynnville, INEmail2018
John DentonMontgomery, TXEmail2018
John WiessingerIthica, NYEmail2018


Journal Editor - Robert King
ABS Website - Paul Stokes Email
ABS Advertising- Todd Schlafer
Newsletter Editor- Dave Bogan


ABS Executive Secretary

Barbara Bogan
ABS Executive Secretary
PO Box 6
Lynnville, IN 47619, U.S.A
Telephone: (812) 922-5451

Help Us Grow




Advertise your business or club here!